Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ll be posting some more holiday favorites tomorrow. Today, I thought I would share a review…

The Mouse That RoaredThe Mouse That Roared by Christopher Sergel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I used to take acting in my senior year of High School and this was one of the plays we would read in class. It quickly became one of my favorites. I can’t help but read this and be brought back to that time and all the great memories I have of that year. If you haven’t read it, I think you really should. I’ll try not to give too much away in this review…

So, the play centers on this little country that is literally stuck back in the middle ages. They even weapons from that time period. Anyway, the country exports a certain drink that is pretty much the only thing that brings the country in any money. When a company in California begins producing a drink that is essentially the same thing, the country ends up taking that (and the United State’s lack of response to them) as an attack on them and decide to declare war.

Imagine a bunch of people invading New York carrying primitive weapons. While the motivation behind what they’re doing is serious, the play is packed with so ridiculous it’s funny images like that and other little comedic moments. A definite read for anyone who enjoys plays.

View all my reviews

