Tags

, , , , ,

Today I thought I would share a few quick thoughts on Brad Paisley’s book Diary of a Player. Hope you enjoy!

Diary of a Player: How My Musical Heroes Made a Guitar Man Out of MeDiary of a Player: How My Musical Heroes Made a Guitar Man Out of Me by Brad Paisley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had been wanting to read this one for a while and finally went ahead and got a copy at the local library. I was expecting a funny read and I wasn’t disappointed. I loved reading about how Mr. Guitar Hero got a “D” in the instrument during his college years, much to his parent’s annoyance. It was also nice to read about the inspiration behind the song “Part II” and how his children have a whole different definition of the word ‘play’. He was asked by the kids at one point to “play batman” and started strumming the theme song on his guitar… the boys were not impressed and he was informed they meant they wanted to play pretend.

If there is one thing that I didn’t like in the book, it was the overly gushy testimonials from his friends and fellow musicians. They just seemed a little awkward and at odds with all the “humble boy paying tribute to the greats” talk in the book.

guitarists and Paisley fans alike will probably really enjoy this book and it may just inspire a few future greats…

View all my reviews

Did you read this book? What do you think? Are you planning to read it? Comment back and let’s talk about it. See ya next time!

