Tags

, , , , , ,

Tales of the Slayer, Volume 1 (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)Tales of the Slayer, Volume 1 by Doranna Durgin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Buffy is one of my favorite TV shows from the 90’s. I still remember watching the premiere and thinking “wow- this is SO much better than the movie.” One year, I was given this short story collection as a gift and I couldn’t put it down.

I enjoyed reading the stories of Slayers that came before Buffy. It starts back in the days of ancient Greece and goes all the way until the 1950’s. Here are some of my personal favorites…

“The White Doe” – This tale follows the life of a slayer named White Doe who ends up being raised by a local tribe of Indians after her own family and fellow colonists are killed by vampires. The tale is actually based on the real disappearance of the Roanoke Colony in the 1500’s.

“Silent Screams” – This story follows a slayer in the 1920’s who finds way more than she bargained for when she goes to witness a movie being filmed.

“Unholy Madness” – I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with this story set during the days of Marie Antoinette. Marie Christine is a Slayer who spends her time serving the aristocrats and not caring what happens to the common folk. She is pretty unlikable but she does manage to do something pretty cool at one point. Even if it does ultimately end up being stupid…

Other stories deal with Elizabeth Bathory and racism in the south during the 50’s as well as small town life in the 19th century. Overall, it’s a good read that I think respects the canon of the Buffy world. I’m sure any fan would enjoy this collection.

View all my reviews

