Tags

, , , , ,

Well, I have been busy reading review copies of books for different blog tours I am participating in lately so I have not been doing specific 52 Books in 52 Weeks reviews. This week, I decided to take a break and read Rebecca’s book.

The Forever Girl: Sophia's Journey (Forever Girl, #1)The Forever Girl: Sophia’s Journey by Rebecca Hamilton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sophia is a young Wiccan girl living next door to a woman who runs a cult based in Christianity and Sophia’s mother is buying into the cults beliefs. Her mother is constantly trying to get Sophia to attend services and drop her unconventional beliefs, leading to a lot of tension between the two. If that wasn’t bad enough, a girl’s night out plunges her  into a world far beyond what she ever imagined and her neighbor is leaving her borderline threatening notes.

I have been looking forward to reading this one for awhile now and it didn’t disappoint. Rebecca’s writing is vivid and engaging, drawing you into Sophia’s crazy life. You feel for her as she struggles to understand what’s happening to her and the world she thought she knew. Rebecca did a great job of portraying Sophia’s conflicted feelings for new ally Charles and the complex, combative relationship with her mother. Overall, an easy and fun read that leaves you wanting more. I’m looking forward to future books in the series.

View all my reviews

