Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had the opportunity to interview twitter buddy, flute teacher and author Aubrie Dionne. She’s on a blog tour now in support of Tundra 37, which is part of a series of sci-fi books. This is new territory for me, reading wise, so I had a lot of fun reading this one. Stay tuned for my thoughts on the book later on. For now, let’s here what Aubrie has to say…. 

1) Tell us about the inspiration behind Tundra 37.

The sci fi inspiration comes from the countless times I watched Star Wars and Star Trek TNG as a kid. I love space opera and the endless boundaries that come with it. I’d never, ever, go on a real spaceship- too scared- so I travel there in my mind.

As for the ice planet inspiration, that’s all from living in NH, where the temperature can drop below zero. I wear pants under my dress all through the winter, along with two sweaters, a hat, gloves, and scarf every day. It takes me ten minutes to leave the house! So, I don’t like being cold, and I thought: what a wonderful way to create tension in a novel!

2) Do you have a favorite character in the book? If so, why?

Luna, the antagonist trying to teal Miles away from Gemme, was a lot of fun to write because she was so mean! In fact, I wondered if anyone could actually BE  that mean in real life until I watched the last few episodes of The Bachelor, and yep, there’s people out there just like Luna. But, my favorite character is probably Mestasis because she was so complex. She’s been attached to the ship for over three hundred years, watching her body waste away. She gave up love to be there with her sister, and now she have to save her sister again, because she’s losing her identity to the mainframe. I found Mestasis fascinating.

3) Name one thing you absolutely must have when you are writing.

My computer. When I write on a notebook it never comes out as organized!

4) What literary character do you most relate to?

Jane Eyre. Although, I’m not sure why because I’m not an orphan and I certainly don’t have an older Mr. Rochester as a boss. 🙂 Maybe it’s because she’s so little, so she has to fight harder to be taken seriously.

5) What’s a typical writing day like for you?

I love writing at night between 9-11. Typically, I use the morning to answer my emails and do social network stuff. Then, I have to go to work.

6) Tell us a little-known fact about yourself.

This may be gross, but I had an outy belly button for most of my life and I hated it. A few years ago, I had my appendix removed, and magically it turned into a beautiful inny belly button, which I like to show off. 🙂 My brother is jealous, because he got his appendix out years ago when they didn’t have the laser procedure, so he has a big fat scar instead of a nicer belly button. His belly button still sticks out.

7) What are you reading right now?

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. I LOVE it. It has everything I love reading about: a betrothal uniting kingdoms, a jungle with savages, battles, mystery. Everything.

8) Do you have any can’t-miss shows?

Ummm, I don’t like to admit it, but I like watching The Bachelor and The Bachelorette. Those shows give me endless material for the characters in my  books. hehe.

9) Name a story you wish you had written.

The Lord of the Rings! Never mind written, I wish I lived there, right in Rivendale with the elves. *sigh*

10) What’s the most important advice you’ve ever gotten about your writing career?

Perseverance. It took me four books to get an agent. So, what would have happened if I gave up after three? Nothing. I’d be sitting at the computer playing spider solitaire all day.

Thank you for the interview!!!

