Tags

, , , , , ,

As promised, I’m here to share some info on Tundra 37 as well as my thoughts on the book (look for a review of book 3 soon):

Tundra 37

A New Dawn, #2

Author: Aubrie Dionne


Length:
288 pagesGenre: Sci-Fi Romance

Release Date: February 2012

ePub ISBN: 978-1-937044-49-7

Print ISBN: 978-1-937044-51-0

http://www.entangledpublishing.com/tundra-37/

Tundra 37 Book Trailer:

A New Dawn Novel, Book Two

Gemme is a hi-tech matchmaker who pairs the next generation of Lifers aboard the Expedition, a deep space transport vessel destined for Paradise 18. When the identity of her lifemate pops up on her screen, she’s shocked that he’s the achingly gorgeous and highly sought after Lieutenant Miles Brentwood—a man oblivious to her existence. Believing everyone will think she contrived the match, she erases it from the computer’s memory.

Just as comets pummel the ship and destroy the pairing system forever.

With the Expedition disabled, the colonists must crash land on the barren ice world of Tundra 37 where Gemme is reassigned to an exploratory mission, led by Lieutenant Brentwood. Only in the frozen tundra does she understand the shape of his heart and why the computer has entwined their destinies.

What I Thought:

As I mentioned in the earlier post, I haven’t really done much Sci-Fi reading and my exposure to the genre is basically limited to a couple Star Trek series (not to mention a couple Christopher Pike books). I figured “why not try it out”? I’m glad I did. I liked the main character’s struggle to deal with life after being matchmaker. She’s lived in this orderly world for so long and now all the rules have been thrown out the window, leaving her unsure if she can actually make the choice that used to be made for everyone. I couldn’t help but enjoy her conflict with Luna, a spoiled Legacy. Despite feeling Luna should win their little battle, I couldn’t help but feel some sympathy for Luna. Power and privilege can corrupt and is hard to get past so you can at the right thing. You just get programmed to expect to get what you want when you want it. The thing that most drew me into the story, though, was the Seers. They run the ship and added an eerie dimension to the story. It brings about questions like how much power should any person have? When do we take keeping order too far?

Favorite Quote:

“Luna didn’t look cold at all. In fact, she still had the zipper down so low the light shone in places it shouldn’t. Maybe all the padding in front provided insulation?”

