Tags

,

So I was sitting here trying to figure out what on earth I’m going to write on my blog today when I came across a link that got my juices flowing. As most of you have heard by now, Rhianna and Chris Brown have released a couple of songs that they collaborated on together. I won’t even get into how I feel about that situation because I’m sad and upset about how so many people were falling all over themselves to defend him. I will say, however, that I have even more respect for Miranda Lambert after she put her two cents in on the Grammy love that was thrown Brown’s way. This isn’t about that, though. As I said, I don’t even want to get into it- my blood will start to boil and that’s never fun (not to mention a really bad look).

Today’s post is about how they’re both handling the criticism. I really don’t know who their PR people are, but if I were them those twitter accounts would be shut down faster than a politician flip flops. Any good PR person should be extremely upset by Brown’s belligerent tweets and Rhianna’s responses to a fan yesterday. How does she justify saying something like that and then sending her fans after the girl?  Criticism is the name of the game and sometimes you have to deal with it. You are not supposed to respond to critical reviews and you are definitely never supposed to be openly hostile to someone who criticizes you. I’m not saying be a robot who doesn’t stand up for yourself, but there is a civilized way to do it. It’s called being a professional.

I won’t even pretend to understand Rhianna as a person and why she did what she did. I will also not even begin to try and make sense what is no doubt a complicated relationship between those two. I genuinely wish her the best and hope that another situation like what happened before never happens again. I just hope that someone is sitting her butt down and explaining how horrible a move that was and other celebs are taking notes on what not to do.

