Tags

, , , ,

Hello again! Today, I’d like to welcome the hilarious and cool Julie Anne Lindsey to CultureShock. She’ll be taking over today talking about why she writes romances. I hope you’ll stop by her blog and twitter after you’re done- you’ll be glad you did.

I like a Happy Ending

JulieAnneLindsey.jpg

Hollywood is a serious downer as of late. It started a while ago or maybe it never ends. I’m not sure. I had a tough time dealing with Ashton cheating on Demi. It really bothered me. I mean, I have no words. Sad doesn’t seem to cut it. You expect some romances to fail when the liquor wears off but their’s was a marriage I really wanted to survive. Then, I hear about Katy Perry and Russell calling it quits and I died a little. What the heck? That’s completely ridic! The first couple had lots of obstacles to face – and plenty of time to get past them I thought *cough* *grouch* – but come on! Not Katy & Russell? So wrong. They were *perfect* weren’t they? Now, I’m dealing with the Seal / Heidi break up. I’m sorry but when a super model has all those babies, I expect it to last. Gah! And he was on Ellen wearing his ring! *cries*

This is why I write romance. In books, they couple gets a happily ever after. I’m ten years into my marriage and going strong, but the media and celebrity news would have you believe marriage is a failing practice, a passing trend, an antiquated custom. Sad.

I say, “Uhn-uh. No way Jose. I believe in fairytales!” If we don’t, then what do we have?

So, I write romances. The toe curling, sun melting sort. I love to introduce a hero and heroine with flaws and heartaches and occasionally a bad attitude. Then I drop them in one another’s paths and watch the sparks fly. At first, they’re disconcerted. They aren’t sure what they’re feeling. They don’t want to feel this way. Then, suddenly they’re vulnerable in brand new ways. And happier than they’ve ever been. The flirting takes off and the meaningful glances begin.

“Was he looking at me? Did he like what he saw?”…

“If I kiss her will she slap me? Why must she wear those sundresses? How am I supposed to think straight with her in those sundresses!” Ahh the angst and anxiety.

Then comes the love. True. Real. Lasting love.

Their friendship takes root, and they begin to connect in real and bone crushing, heart shattering ways. They need one another. They’re stronger together. Sleep better. Food tastes sweeter. A life without the other wouldn’t be worth bothering. And so they must confess it. They put it out there, lay it on the line and we hold our collective breath with them, hoping their love is returned.

*Sa-woon* Please imagine me with one forearm over my eyes as I collapse. I love the moment it all becomes real. Everything changes, presumably the change is irrevocable. In my stories, you can bank on it. In Honey Creek, fairytales still come true.

I hope you’ll visit Honey Creek. It’s a beautiful place where anything can happen. Kick off your shoes, relax into that porch swing and cuddle up to a steamy mug of cider. Taking a trip to Honey Creek is as easy as Amazon : ) See you there!

Bloom by Julie Anne Lindsey

Bloom-Cover-Art-blog1.jpg

In a town filled with her past, she never expected to find her future…

Seven years ago Cynthia left Honey Creek with a broken heart. Three years ago Mitchell arrived with one.  Now Cynthia’s come home, and these two hardened hearts can’t stop arguing. If they’d only take a break long enough to find some common ground, they might be surprised to find love can grow anywhere. If they’ll let it, love will find a way to Bloom.

*Bloom is book one in my new Seeds of Love series.  I’ll be planting those seeds all year.
About Julie:
I am a mother of three, wife to a sane person and Ring Master at the Lindsey Circus. Most days you’ll find me online, amped up on caffeine & wielding a book.
You can find my blogging about the writer life at Musings from the Slush Pile
Tweeting my crazy at @JulieALindsey
Reading to soothe my obsession on GoodReads
And other books by me on Amazon
