Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Friday!! So, today I will interviewing my friend Cherie Reich. I met Cherie awhile back thanks to a mutual buddy and am excited to participate in her blog tour for Defying Gravity. So, let’s see what she has to say about writing, finding balance and surprising secret talents….

1) To start off, tell us a fun fact about yourself not featured in your bio.

I used to be an actress and opera singer.

2) How did you get involved with Valley Writers and what’s the biggest thing you’ve gotten out of being in the group?

I found out about Valley Writers while searching the internet for writers’ groups in Virginia. It was local, but I usually had to work on Thursday nights when I first discovered it. I kept the page bookmarked and eventually decided to go once my summer schedule kicked it. I enjoyed it so much that I got my co-worker to switch nights with me. The biggest thing I’ve gotten out of the group is a sense of community. It’s like going to a writers’ conference twice a month. I’ve also learned a lot about critiquing and editing through them.

3) You’re also a freelance editor, library assistant and critique partner/book reviewer. How do you manage to juggle your roles and what’s the most challenging aspect of maintaining that balance?

Balance? What is this “balance” you speak of? *laughs* I really struggle to do it all. The key is to make lists (lots and lots of lists) and try to stay ahead. Fortunately I can do some things at my library job. Without that, nothing would get accomplished.

4) What’s the first book you remember reading?


Syd Hoff’s Danny and the Dinosaur

5) What was the main inspiration behind becoming a writer?

I’ve always had an active imagination, so I wanted to share it with others.

6) Who are some of your favorite authors?

JK Rowling, Stephen King, Michael Crichton, and Aubrie Dionne

7) Tell us a bit about Defying Gravity and what motivated you to self-publish the book?

Defying Gravity is about two aliens from different planets crash-landing upon a post-apocalyptic Earth. Although their species hate each other, they find they must work together—and fall in love—to escape from their captors.

After waiting a year with one publisher (story was short-listed and then the anthology cancelled) and never hearing back from another one (nine month wait and withdrew the submission), I decided to take matters in my own hands. Defying Gravity had been through several edits throughout the two years since I wrote the first draft. The story was where I wanted it. It needed a bit of tweaking and polishing, but it was ready. The thoughts of spending another term on submission with a publisher and having to wait months for it to be published saddened me. I always wanted to try self-publishing, my CP Aubrie Dionne said she would create the cover art, and formatting was much easier than I thought it would be, so I self-published.

8) Many people are making playlists of songs they listened to while writing their book or fits the situations/characters. What do you think of this and what would be on your Defying Gravity Playlist?

I think for some writers that playlists could help get them in the mood. Others, it helps to block out the background noise. For me, I rarely listen to music while writing. That said, the song “Defying Gravity” from Wicked inspired the title and listening to Katy Perry’s “ET” always made me want to write Defying Gravity.


9) Facebook or Twitter?

 Facebook (Love Twitter but just can’t keep up the same way.)

10) Ebook or Hard Copy?

Ebooks to read and hard copy to look at.

11) A Favorite Quote

“For I see the true state of all us that live — We are dim shapes, no more, and weightless shadow.” — From Sophocles’ Ajax

12) What message would you like to send to someone just starting out as a writer?

Read a lot. Write a lot. Be open to critique and change.


13) If you could meet any author, who would you chose and why? 

I wished I had the chance to meet Michael Crichton before he died. I loved his work, read about everything he has written (some books multiple times), and I would love to talk to him about researching for a novel because he was fabulous with it.

14) You are currently reading Steven King’s On Writing. Is there anything in there that surprised you? Are there any tips in the book you are planning to apply to your own writing?

So far nothing has really surprised me. I agree with most of what he says. I don’t agree with some of it. I like the idea of creating a “toolbox” for your craft. I completely agree with reading and writing a lot. I think next year I’m really going to up my word counts and book reading. I disagree with plotters being dullards. It’s not my fault that the plot comes to me as soon as I see the character. I do want to work more on his description techniques in the beginning instead of adding them in edits.

15) Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers as we finish up?
Readers are what make writers’ jobs worth it. Without you, we are just cutting down trees without anyone to hear them fall. Thank you.

Thank you for taking the time the answer my questions 🙂 Wanna learn more about her book and see where to follow her online? Keep reading….

Defying Gravity by Cherie Reich

Book Description: Homesick upon the SS Perseid, Linia, a young linguist, thinks she signed up for a mission of peace, but her crew members have another plan: attack the planet Medusa.

Bored with his dying planet, Alezandros, a space cruiser pilot, joins the Medusan Army in his quest for adventure.

When the SS Perseid clashes with the Medusans’ space cruisers, Alezandros and Linia’s lives intertwine. Sucked through a wormhole, they crash upon a post-apocalyptic Earth and are captured by cannibals. In adjacent cells, Alezandros and Linia cast their differences aside for a common bond: escape. But when romantic feelings emerge between them, they might do the unthinkable because for a Medusan and a Persean to fall in love, it would defy gravity.

Book Links:

Surrounded by Books Publishing 

Goodreads

Amazon 

Amazon UK 

Amazon DE 

Amazon FR

Amazon IT  

Amazon ES

Author Bio: Cherie Reich is a writer, freelance editor and library assistant. She enjoys writing horror, fantasy, and mysteries, but she doesn’t let that stop her from trying other genres. Her short stories have appeared in magazines and anthologies, and her e-books include Once Upon a December Nightmare, The Best of Raven and the Writing Desk, and Defying Gravity. She is a member of the Virginia Writers Club and Valley Writers and placed third in Roanoke Valley’s BIG READ writing contest.

Author Links:

Website

Blog 

Facebook 

Twitter @bookworm0753 

Google+ 

