Tags

, , , , , , ,

So, another episode of The Voice down and I’m back to recap before the new episode in case you missed it and share some thoughts. You can always see auditions and full episodes as well on the NBC site.

The episode started with Whitney Myer, who performed Alicia Keys’ “No One”. She did an amazing job; I thought she sounded better than Alicia herself on it. I guess the judges agreed because all four chairs turned around. She ended up choosing to work with Adam.

Another great act was The Shields Brothers. They performed a version of “Dancing With Myself” that had Cee Lo chair dancing. He, of course, was the one who got them.

Cheesa, another member of Team Cee Lo, performed Beyonce’s “If I Were a Boy”. She started out a bit rough to me, but her voice really shined later into the song. I think Cee Lo can do a lot to help her out.

Lex Land was another one who managed to get more than one judge to turn around. Her version of “I Can’t Make You Love Me” had everyone but Christina fighting for her. She ultimately chose to work with Blake.

Orlando Napier’s bluesy version of Waiting on the World to Change earned him a spot on Team Adam. I’m not really a fan of that song, but he actually made me like it a little.

Lee Koch won over Christina with his version of “Like a Rolling Stone”. I loved the gritty tone to his voice during his performance and looking forward to seeing how he does.

One of the more interesting performances for me was Wade’s version of Rehab. He took one of Amy’s Winehouse’s most famous tracks and made it his own. I was pulling for him to win a spot, too, after he mentioned being scared no one would turn around.

http://www.nbc.com/assets/video/widget/widget.html?vid=1387660

Finally, I want to talk about Sera Hill who tackled an old favorite of mine, “I’m Going Down”. What a voice! She definitely deserved to be the one to fill Team Christina and I love how she actually got Christina to jump up and sing it with her. One of the highlights of the night.

http://www.nbc.com/assets/video/widget/widget.html?vid=1387662

The biggest disappointment of the night, for me, was Cameron Novack. He performed Alanis’ “You Oughta Know”. It was an interesting version that showed off his powerful voice. He also did a little Opera and Rap during the episode. So much talent to spare…. how no one turned around I don’t know. I loved how they kept begging to break the rules and take him on anyway.

So what are your thoughts? Anyone you would’ve picked that they didn’t? Was there a contestant who shouldn’t have gone ahead? Comment back and let’s talk about it. In the meantime, with the battle rounds about to begin on Monday I leave you with this clip….

