Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sorry the post is a bit late today, but I did make some good progress on the challenge. I’ve got most day’s topics planned out, so most of the posts should come out early. Here is today’s letter…

Claudia Kishi's favorite forbidden book series. I hate to admit, they were pretty cool.

B is for Books. Books made up a huge part of my childhood, and I’m not kidding. I was that kid who was perfectly happy to sit somewhere during recess and just read. I would go down to the local bookstore (anyone remember these?) and buy the new Babysitter’s Club book or the latest Sweet Valley High. After awhile, I added Nancy Drew and Christopher Pike to my reading list. Usually, I would finish reading these books the same day.

As you can see from the caption, I was introduced to Nancy Drew through The Babysitter’s Club. I was introduced to the club back in the third grade by a good friend of mine who loaned me Kristy’s Great Idea. Like a lot of girls back then, I started getting ideas to start my own. I eventually did (we made fliers and everything), but we quickly discovered people don’t actually want  to hire 11-year-old kids to watch theirs. Who knew? I also eventually learned that 13-year-olds do not get to travel all over the place by themselves (another disappointment) and to always skip “that” chapter. If you’re a fan of the series, you know what I mean. SVH also provided a skewed view of what was to come, but I think in most of the cases it was for the best. I mean, really… how many psycho killers can target a teenage girl in a year’s time?

You mean High School students aren't all driving fancy cars and going on ski trips several times a year?

So what were some of your favorite books series? Did you try to start up a club or other business like it after reading the BSC? Comment back and let’s talk about it!

