Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Today is Sunday, so that means a little break from the A to Z Challenge. Before I get into the topic of today’s post, I want to let you all know that I’ll once again be live blogging my reactions to The Voice on my Facebook Page tomorrow (4/23/12), so feel free to stop by and chat with me 🙂 If you can’t make it, I’ll be compiling it all in my Notes section.

So today’s post is a little bit of a change of pace for me. I was asked to participate in a tour for a book called The Quaker State Affair. Why is this a bit of a change, you ask? Check out the description and see for yourself before I share some thoughts….

The Quaker State Affair Book Summary

What happens when “some day” finally arrives?

A mysterious explosion in Taiwan. Nuclear secrets stolen from Los Alamos. China’s manifest destiny at hand.

In the near future, America and China go head-to-head in a battle of technological bluffs, setting in motion a chain of events that could lead to skyrocketing oil prices, the end of the dollar, the American way of life, and the republic itself. The only man who might have an answer in the midst of the international crisis is Patrick “Mac” McDaniels, a world-renowned physicist who wants nothing to do with the government. Has he been conducting revolutionary energy research in secret? And if so, will McDaniels be America’s salvation—or its ruin?

Review:

As you can see from the description, this is quite a bit different than the other books I’ve talked about here. I think the closest one I can think of was Generation and I think even that isn’t all that close, except for the fact it involves science. I’m not even going to pretend to vouch for the science here. If you saw my old report cards, you would know why! That said, I enjoyed this book while being made very uncomfortable by it at the same time. Why? Because Mr. Romain has clearly been paying attention to a lot of recent events and weaves the current economic issues,  rising gas prices and other details into this story of a world thrown into chaos. It’s hard not to read this story and see the potential for similar events to occur at some point in the future.

I think the thing that most intrigued me was how he humanized these politicians. I can picture a real POTUS speaking of his rival the way President Spalding speaks of Gov. Chambers behind closed doors. As I said, this was a bit of an uncomfortable read for me because of how easily he weaves real-life events in with the fiction but it drew me in and wouldn’t let me go until I finished it. I loved the way Mac and his friend Ben interact with the Government officials and found the way he managed to stay two steps ahead through a lot of it entertaining. It’s a fast-paced read that builds in tension the closer you get to the end.

I won’t say anything about how it ends, but I will say that if you like Political thrillers in general, you should like The Quaker State Affair. I’ll be curious to see what the author comes up with next…

Dan Romain Bio:

Dan Romain is a nationally recognized business consultant who built one of the most successful insurance firms in the country. A graduate of the University of Washington with a bachelor’s degree in economics and a member of the Omicron Delta Epsilon International Economics Society, he currently resides in Seattle, Washington, with his wife, Lori, their two children, Danielle and Brian, and their black Labrador, Kona. He has been widely credited as one of the few who accurately predicted the economic melt down.

