Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I think it’s time to once again bring some music to the A to Z blogging challenge. If you haven’t done so yet, please drop by the page (after you read this of course 🙂 ) and show the other bloggers some love. Also, if you’re looking for Voice Discussion, here is my post for that. Music and dance was such a big part of my childhood and I don’t think I can do this theme without being music-centric. There were very few more influential to me than this song…

V is for Vision of Love. Mariah Carey’s debut single and a total revelation. The 80s were over and, Whitney, Mariah was coming for you. The notes Mariah hit in that song were insane and it was a bit of a different sound than I was used to hearing. She injected a bit of old soul into her music that was definitely missing from a lot of the current pop acts. That song took you places and the vocals made you feel every word.

Vocal Insanity. Seriously.

As a kid who harbored dreams of being a singer, I was in awe of her talent and aspired to try and sing even half as good as her. I’m sure I’m not alone in that. So, fess up- who else practiced singing along with this with hairbrush, toy mic firmly in hand? Have some other “V” on your mind? Comment and let’s chat about it!

