Tags

, , , ,

Please welcome my guest for today, Lauren Grimley. We met through goodreads and agreed to swap blog posts. As a music geek and fellow writer, it was fun to see what she listened to while creating her book, Unforseen. Check it out and then head on over to her blog for my post about muses.

Playlist for Unforeseen by Lauren Grimley
(Available on iTunes through Ping)

Hurricane Streets by Hey Monday
Crawling In The Dark by Hoobastank
Drive by Incubus
Take Me Away by Avril Lavigne
In the Blood by Better Than Ezra
Don’t Wait by Dashboard Confessional
The Only Exception by Paramore
Two Is Better Than One by Boys Like Girls
Invincible by Crossfade
It’s You by Fireflight
Anything But Ordinary by Avril Lavigne
I’m With You by Avril Lavigne
As Lovers Go by Dashboard Confessional
The Secret’s In the Telling by Dashboard Confessional
Born For This by Paramore
This Is Pressure by Eskimo Joe
Reason To Believe by Dashboard Confessional
Fire by Dead By Sunrise
100 Suns by 30 Seconds To Mars

Like Jamie, I love both books and music. I get as excited about discovering a new band or stumbling upon a song I love as I do when I find a great new book or author. As a writer, music is a necessity for me. I spend hours searching for songs to put on my writing playlists (I have one for each book in the series so far). My method of song selection is a bit random. Some songs end up on the playlist because they have one great line that really speaks to one of my characters. I have songs on my playlists for nearly all my major characters, not just my heroine, Alex. Others it’s the overall tone or emotion of the song that reminds me of part in the book. I use the music to help me get in the heads of my characters and some days that’s hard. But music affects my mood so much, I can always count on it to suck me into whatever place I need to be in–as unpleasant as that can be some days!

The irony of all this is that I never listen to music when I’m actually writing. I require silence to write. I love song lyrics too much; I couldn’t be hearing some amazing song writing while trying to put my own thoughts into words. Instead I listen to my playlists while I’m creating the ideas to write down later. I listen on my runs during which I’m almost always planning the next scene I’m going to write. I listen in the car, or when I clean, or when I should be correcting but would rather be daydreaming. I listen to music hours each day, and I know I couldn’t write without the inspiration music gives me–I just can’t write while listening. Go figure.

As for the playlist for my first novel, Unforeseen, it’s definitely heavy on alternative and rock songs, which is partly because that’s what I prefer to listen to anyways, but also the moods and lyrics really meshed well with the writing. I also have a number of songs with strong female vocalists, because my main character Alex is a tough chick with a hell of a lot going on in this book. The angst and the strength just seemed to fit. Some are more well-known groups that I had like before. Others I found through recommendations on iTunes or Pandora or through friends. And since I’m still writing the series, I’d love to discover some new musicians, so feel free to leave some suggestions!

Blogger Bio:
Lauren Grimley is the author of Unforeseen an urban fantasy just released by Malachite Quills Publishing. To pay the bills and test her sanity she teaches middle school English in Central Massachusetts. Though she writes mostly fantasy, she likes to share her thoughts on writing, teaching, and life through her blog.

Connect with Lauren on Twitter or Facebook.

Unforeseen is available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble. To read the teaser and an excerpt, see a trailer, or find links to purchase it visit her site.

