Tags

, , , , , ,

I know y’all are probably waiting for some more TV or music talk, but today I want to share another post that’s all about a great cause and a few lucky readers could get a free book out of the deal. Sounds fun, right? Well, check out this great guest posy by Tracey M. Hansen and then keep scrolling down to get more info about the book, which benefits the fight against Breast Cancer. If you like what you see, all you have to do is “like” this post and/or comment for a chance to win a print copy. If you do not have a profile with a contact e-mail set up here, please make sure to  message the info to me privately through my contact page. In exactly one week, the people behind the book will randomly choose and message the winners. You need to be in the USA or Canada to win. Good luck and enjoy 🙂

Write for the Fight: A Collection of Seasonal Essays
Co-author Tracey M. Hansen shares a favorite excerpt from one of the essays in Write for the Fight.

Tess Hardwick is the ying to my yang, the peanut butter to my jelly. Her writing is so unlike mine, yet she reels me in quickly, and I am only too happy to be caught in her words. Her writing can be described by simply saying, it’s beautiful. This paragraph in particular gets me every time.

Autumn ‒ What, at this point in your life, do you want, wish and dream of for your life going forward?

By Tess Hardwick, Co-Author

I anticipate the sensual pleasures still to come. And just like the child I once was, I remain awed by their existence: books to read and read again; movies to see; food and wine and visual art to feast upon; and music, always that, to bring me closer to the God I seek. There will be late-night talks with my children and swimming in the rivers of my childhood and in oceans with aqua water near white sand. There’s a bed with downy warmth in the winter months and Dave’s foot to reach for in the dark. I will travel with my girls and, later, after they are grown, with Dave to romantic cities, meadows and the sea. There I will pen what I see and learn. I will enjoy walking trips in Europe, road trips across America and a train ride over the hills and valleys of Canada — just like a character from Alice Munro’s stories.

About Write for the Fight

Authors Tess Hardwick and Tracey Hansen, inspired by the myriad voices in the world, compile a melting pot of life paths from over a dozen unique individuals, each exploring the four timeless questions we’ve all pondered:

· What do you miss about being 5 years old?
· What would you tell your 20-year-old self?
· What, at this point in your life, do you want, wish and dream of for your life going forward?
· What would you want said about you on your 80th birthday?

These experiences make us who we are, defining our personalities, perspectives and dreams as we move through the seasons of life – from memories at age 5 to the person we hope to be described as on our 80th birthday.

Visit the Write for the Fight website or Facebook Fan Page.

About Tracey M. Hansen
Tracey M. Hansen is an author and blogger who resides in sunny Southwest Florida with her boyfriend, two American Staffordshire terriers, and a teacup Chihuahua. She attended Florida Gulf Coast University and originally pursued a career in broadcasting. Tracey cannot imagine a world without coffee. She loves to travel and is competitive to a fault.

In the third grade Tracey started writing fiction and poetry but didn’t discover her true writing voice until her late twenties – and hasn’t looked back since. Inspired by her childhood friend, Holly, who decided to give birth to a daughter diagnosed in utero with both Down Syndrome and a major heart defect, Tracey wrote Not a Perfect Mom, which will be published in 2012 by the amazing Booktrope Publishing. Visit Tracey at http://www.traceyhansen.com.

