Tags

, , , , , ,

I thought for Sample Sunday, I would share a little excerpt from my book, The Life and Times of No One In Particular and a new trailer. I hope you enjoy 🙂 Stay tuned tomorrow for thoughts on the end of Desperate Housewives.

Chapter Twenty-One:
Scientific Musings or Accidents Happen

Okay, remember when I said that I prefer working with the artists of the world instead of the science types? I wasn’t kidding. I have absolutely no interest and never intended to get involved in that whole field. I figured I wouldn’t be much help anyway. Unfortunately, I have a little thing called pride and Melody knew it.

It all started with our usual back and forth about how well (or not as the case may be) our charges were doing. I had a novelist in particular who was getting some great reviews for his book; there was even talk of him winning a literary award for it, which he eventually did. Melody, on the other hand, was working with an inventor who was developing some early computer programs. Actually, he’d taken a wrong turn that ended up setting him back several years. I couldn’t resist opening my big mouth and teasing her about it.

“Oh really?” She glared at me; I swear if looks could kill and if I were mortal, I would’ve been toast! “I’d like to see you handle someone in that field. You probably don’t because you know you don’t know the first thing about that kind of work.” Before I could respond she threw out the challenge. “In fact, I’ll bet you that you will fall flat on your face with one within a week! What do you say?”

I figured she was probably right, but I wasn’t going to tell her that! I accepted her challenge and she found me a charge to work with. We ended up settling on a whole month with him. If I succeeded, she would finally acknowledge I was the superior muse. If I failed… well, let’s just say I had no intention of doing so. He was a Chem. student named Simon studying at one of those Ivy League schools that charge parents their first born to be able to send a child there. He was brilliant, though, and managed to get a bunch of scholarships that took the price down to a small fortune. His parents were very serious about his education, though, so they gladly did everything they could to fork over the rest of the tuition fees and keep him from having to work a job. They wanted him to completely focus on his classes. He was in his second year and hadn’t declared a major yet, although he knew it was going to have something to do with Science.

