Wow… there is a lot of controversy over this book cover. I don’t mind it, but it does look similar to stuff I can do with just paint- I guess people were expecting more from a professional house. I think the simplicity of it is pretty interesting and leaves me wondering “what on earth is this book about”? I highly recommend checking out the pin board she was talking about… I love some of the analysis she does on the covers.

So what do you all think of the Casual Vacancy cover? Hit? Miss? Comment below and let’s chat 🙂

The Monster's Ink

E!Online shows us the cover of J.K. Rowling’s new grown-up book, and to be honest, I think it’s pretty damn ugly.

I have a board on Pinterest called Book Cover Examples, in which I analyze what works (or doesn’t) about certain book covers I’ve poached from Goodreads. I’m afraid this cover doesn’t tell me much about the story inside except that the residents of Pagford identify as Gryffindors and have terrible taste in retro art. It kind of looks like Hatchette recently fired their graphic designer and had to replace hir with someone who couldn’t get accepted to art school. And before anyone tells me not to throw stones, I’ll point out that I don’t live in anywhere near the same kind of glass palace as J.K. Rowling. We’re talking about the woman who is probably the most successful author currently alive, working with a publishing house that thinks it’s…

View original post 157 more words

