I came across this article from a Facebook friend. I don’t like talking politics; mostly because I see how volatile political debates can get. Still, I couldn’t help but want to share this for a couple of reasons. First off, I think this is an extremely well-written opinion piece from one of Country’s greats. When I was in college, I loved writing these in the school paper, so it’s always kind of interesting to read them.

The second reason is this really puts so much in perspective. So many artists have traveled that same road; coming from nothing to pull themselves up to greatness in the entertainment world. People like Jewel, Dolly Parton and Jim Carey. For many, they weren’t born with it; they put in countless hours of work to earn it. It’s so inspirational and makes me want to keep going in those times when my goals seem like such a long shot.

It also puts into perspective the fact that there is a lot of responsibility that comes along with the success they’ve achieved. LeAnn Rimes once spoke of being aware of the fact people’s livelihoods depended on her being able to get onstage each night. At 14/15 years old, she knew that and felt the weight of it. It’s not like you can call in another employee to take your place that day; you are the reason people are coming. I guess it makes some of the struggles that many go through as they get older make more sense.

On that note, I leave y’all with this awesome song….

