Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I got tagged in another meme the other day by Michelle Cornwell-Jordan.

How To Play: You run a search for the word “look” in your current WIP and then paste the surrounding paragraph. (I don’t have an actual WIP at the moment; I’m just editing. The below excerpt is from my book, Musings of a Pet Servant. It’s a mix of real stories and fictional ones about the pets in my life.)

Another cat soon learned to fear the power of The Byby as well. I’d gotten a kitten that I named Cleopatra maybe a year before. Once a new kitten was in the house, Potter was perfectly happy to let Cleo step into the line of fire. And, boy, did Cleo put herself in bad spots! There was one moment I will never forget. I was sitting in the bedroom when I heard a noise from behind me. I turned around in time to see my kitten running backwards at full speed with her tail fluffed up to around three times its normal size. Byby was very calmly and deliberately following her with a look on her face that said she was going to kick little Cleo’s butt. I still have no idea what, exactly, Cleo did to inspire that reaction and wish I’d been able to get that on video. It would’ve won America’s Funniest Home Videos, no question.

I was also recently tagged by CPBialois as The Next Big Thing.

What is the working title of your book?
I’ll be releasing a short story collection soon, but my next project on my own will be my June NaNo book, Musings of a Pet Servant.

Where did the idea come from for the book?
I was originally going to write another book with muses, but I’d been writing some short stories about animals for a writing group run by Bitten Twice and it got me to thinking about the pets that have shared my home over the years. I decided I wanted to write a book that told their stories with some fiction pieces mixed in.

What genre does your book fall under?
Humor/Fiction

 Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I never really thought about that. I don’t think this one is something for the movie treatment.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
It’s a pet’s world, they just allow us to share it with them.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
As of now, I’m planning to self-publish around the end of the year. If an opportunity arises, I’d keep my options open.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
It took me less then 30 days to get draft one finished. I wrote it for the June NaNoWriMo camp.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I can’t really think of any work I could compare it to.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
Writing those short stories and thinking how nice it would be to write something that captured them and all their little moments.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
I think any animal lover/pet parent would be able to read this and connect with the animals and their little quirks.

Thanks again to CP for tagging me! Now, here are five people I think are the next big thing (also, you’re tagged for the look Meme!)

Cherie Reich 

Marni Mann

Jason McIntyre

Eric Swett

Rebecca Hamilton

