Tags

, , , ,

1) What is your latest project and why is it a must-read?
I am writing part two of Judgement of Souls. It will let you know what Rachel and Arun (my leads) have been up to over the years, and how they ended up in Cardiff. It will explain a lot of unanswered questions from Book 3 (I am writing a trilogy but I start at the end) and it will surprise you. Just how did Max manage to avoid Rachel over the years? Just who are the Righteous, how did they get the Book of Cain and why does Arun hate them so much?

2) What was the inspiration behind it?
I was tired of the usual vampire stories. I wanted a great female lead that was vulnerable, but still a vicious killer. I had to show a different relationship with mortals and a new purpose why they are here. It’s not all neck biting!

3) What is one of the biggest challenges you’ve faced in getting your book released?
I tried so many traditional publishers, both in the UK and US. They weren’t willing to take a chance on a new author. It was hard trying to convince them to even let me send my novel to them. I had a reply back from a well known publisher in the UK who told me they loved it but weren’t taking on new clients. It’s very disappointing, but you can’t give up. Another challenge was editing. You write your novel and when you send it off you think it’s perfect – and then you get it back! I deleted around 10,000 words, but it was worth it.

4) Do you write with music or do you prefer silence? If with music, what do you usually play?
I play music. I love Within Temptation and Evanescence. I find that they put me back into that dark story mode… but I also have the TV on, funny but I seem to concentrate better with some sort of noise in the background.

5) Name one book you wish you had written.
Any from the Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice.

6) Pen/Paper or Computer?
Computer.

7) What are you reading/listening to at the moment?
I’ve just finished Chris Karlsen’s Heroes Live Forever and Journey in Time. I’m reading her next instalment, Golden Chariot. Have to admit that I haven’t had time to read very much lately. I’m busy writing the prequel and a few short stories, plus working etc.

And I’m listening to Within Temptation and also the soundtrack to Queen of the Damned.

8) Ebook or Print?
Ebooks are the future – I’m sure of it. But if I’m honest, I’d love to have it in print, but then, which author wouldn’t?

9) What is one thing you wish you’d known before publishing?
How much time I would have to spend promoting/marketing. It’s delayed JOS2 so much.

10) Name one fictional character you wish was real.
Lestat du Lioncourt.

About Margarita

I live in Cardiff with my partner and three little mad dogs and I work for a well-known TV broadcasting company. I love living in Cardiff because, for all its modernisation, there are still remnants of an old Victorian city. I love writing and base my stories in Cardiff because it has such character. When I can, I go out to the coast and take photographs, mind you, we have a lovely castle in the city centre and a fairytale one just on the outskirts, so when I feel I can’t write anything, I take a ramble to those locations and it clears my head.

I suppose it was inevitable that some day I would write a novel. My teachers at school used to limit me to no more than ten pages. When I left school, I wrote short stories for magazines, and it paid my way through college. I am Gothic; I love the fashion, the architecture and the music. The club in my novel is real. When I was writing book one, I got all my club material and clientele from here, I wouldn’t have finished that section without it.

My first full length novel is called Judgement of Souls: The Kiss at Dawn. It’s the last story in a trilogy. I am currently writing story two, the prequel, and after that will be the very first book in the series. I’ve written short stories for magazines, one about a woman who after an accident is given blood and then starts to see grisly murders in her dreams and the other is about a fake psychic which is now available for download.

I also have a romantic story that has being re-written, and will be available in the next few weeks.

Links

REVENGE AND REDEMPTION
A different kind of Vampire story and the first part of a trilogy.

Available on Amazon U.S. , Amazon U.K. and Smashwords

JOIN the JOS Facebook page.
Come on by and join the fangs…

WATCH the short promo that accompanies the novel.

What’s going on in Beryl’s house?
The Psychic.
Now available from Amazon U.S. and Amazon U.k.

