Tags

, , , , ,

Elixir (Elixir, #1)Elixir by Hilary Duff

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m a nerd who loves spending time at the local library. I was there recently to get some research material and decided to check the YA section. As soon as I saw the name on the book, morbid curiosity inspired me to check it out. Could a former Disney actress-turned pop star really deliver?

Imagine my surprise when I ended up enjoying the book! It tells the story of a young photojournalist who ends up getting more than she bargained for in a series of shots she takes while on a European vacation. Is the mysterious figure she captures a crazy stalker? Does he have something to do with her father’s disappearance? Clea sets out to get the answers to these questions and more in the first of a series.

While the book contains several YA mainstays (a 17-year-old who is probably much too independent for their age, a love triangle and another I will not mention due to spoilers), she does manage to make it engaging and fun. I liked the relationships between the characters and the personality of the lead. I also liked that it touched on themes I wrote about and am interested in as well.

Bottom line: It may not be totally original (then again, how many works now are? Seems like most books are all a variation on a theme), but it’s a fun read that kept me going til the end. I do recommend maybe borrowing both the books from your library or purchasing them at the same time, as I was left with a sense of “was that it?” The third in the series has yet to be released.

View all my reviews

