Tags

, , , , ,

Tomorrow is the first day of NaNoWriMo. I’d like to have a synopsis of my project up along with a title and (maybe) a working cover within a few days. My problem? I can’t decide on a title!

Please check out my facebook page and vote in the poll to help me decide! Currently, there is a three-way tie and I need to narrow it down. I’d really appreciate any help you guys can give.

That said, now it’s time to get down to business. I meant to type this up earlier, but I forgot my notebook the other day. Ah, the forgetfulness of a writer…

Let’s start with the final battles…

Cee Lo teamed Domo with Cody for a version of telephone that left Cody to take part in the knock out rounds.

Nathalie and Aquile of Team Xtina battled it out with Aquile moving on.

Team Adam’s Caitlin and Melanie performed “Lights” to see whill move on. Luckily for Caitlin, Ceelo chose to steal her after she was eliminated.

Sadly, there were two battles people barely got to see, a downside of the show adding so many more people to each team. Rudy and Charlie battled, while Cecilia and Lisa went head-to-head. Lucky for me, both of my people won.

The next episode featured Team Christina’s Jordan and Adriana performing “Hot N Cold” by Katy Perry. Adriana ended up winning this one.

Team Blake had one of the most entertaining performances. He paired his youngest team members (Michaela and Kelly) to perform “I Hate Myself for Loving You”. They both performed the hell out of this song and I was sad that one of them had to go. I especially loved the expression on Christina’s face when Kelly gave a look during the performance.

Finally, Cee Lo paired Chevonne with Avery to sing “Titanium”. They were a really good mix and owned the stage. No one went home in this one, as Chevonne got stolen. 

The Knock-Out Rounds

Now, it’s getting serious. Yesterday and Monday, the team members were once again paired up. This time, there was no saving contestants- it was impress or go home.

Teams Adam and Cee Lo battled it out Monday. Adam started things off by pairing Kayla and Joselyn. Kayla performed “Shark in the Water” while Joselyn chose “Love on Top”. This was so hard for me, as both of them were on my team. I think they both did an excellent job, but I do think that Adam made the right choice by picking Joselyn.

Next, he paired Joe with Bryan. I think Joe made a very interesting choice in picking Taylor’s “Mean” to perform and he did a great job. The look on Blake’s face when he realized what song Joe was singing was great. Bryan performed “Everything I Do (I Do it For You)”. I think he hit a really great note near the end that freaked me out, but I didn’t like how he cut the song up. I think he was trying too hard to show off the huge parts instead of having a gradual build. This one went to Bryan.

Amanda and Michelle were next. I loved Amanda’s song choice (Paris Ooh la la) and she performed it so well! I’m glad she won and will keep representing my team this season. Michelle did “Spotlight” and was really good, it just sounded a bit too much like the original. It seems Adam was very smart with his steals…. both of them advanced tonight.

Loren and Nicole also picked some great songs for their l chance to move on to the live episodes. Loren chose Amy Winehouse “You Know I’m No Good”, while Nicole choice “If I Ain’t Got You”. Both of them did an amazing job, but I think Adam was right to give it to Loren… she made the riskier song choice. I also have to say that I loved how they both really took Adam’s coaching seriously and applied what he said. Some past contestants have ignored their critiques.

Finally, Melanie and Sam performed. Melanie chose “Bulletproof” and Sam did “Walking in Memphis.” I absolutely love the song Sam chose (one part in particular)m so I was disappointed to see that he chose to cut it out. Melanie sounded the best I’ve heard her on her song, so I am not at all surprised she moved on.

On Team Cee Lo, Avery chose a Chris Brown song and Cody chose to sign “Jolene”. I am not a Christ Brown fan and have to give the side-eye to Avery’s choice. I think he was also playing it safe. I love that Cody took a risk in song choice and am happy to have him continuing to represent my team.

Mackenzie and Daniel were next, both choosing interesting songs. Machenzie played “Call Me Maybe” on the guitar and changed the arrangement up a little, while Daniel chose to do “Back to December”. I think Daniel had the stronger vocals, but Mackenzie was the winner.

Terisa and Trevyn were next. She chose “Saving All My Love For You” and he performed “Against All Odds”. I think they both played it very safe. I think Ceelo had a really tough choice to make. She sounded just like Whitney is some parts, while Trevyn held his own and hit an incredible note near the end. I do think he could’ve chosen to do it a little differently, though, and make the transition to that huge note a little less harsh. I think a steady build up to it works better. The winner? Trevyn.

Mycle was next, performing alongside Nicholas. I loved that Mycle chose “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me”- it was one of my favorites and such a great, dramatic song. I had to give the edge to Nicholas and his performance of “Put Your Records On”. I think he’s a very interesting performer and I’ll be curious to see where he goes from here, as Ceelo chose him to move on.

Finally, we have Diego Vs. Caitlin. She chose Evanescence’s “Bring Me Back to Life” and sounded really great. Diego, however, came on with “Are You Gonna Go My Way” and earned the right  to move on to the live rounds. I love that guy’s style.

Stay tuned,  cause tomorrow, I will share my thoughts on  Tusesday’s show as well as a final rundown of our teams for Virtual Voice. That will be on my facebook page, so check the link I will post tomorrow along with an author feature for the first day of NaNo. See ya then!

