Tags

, , , ,

Well, it’s here again! That crazy time of month where writers frantically try to get a word count in and meet that 50K goal. Since this is the first day of the NaNo challenge, I thought it would be fitting to share an interview with an author buddy of mine. Enjoy and get to know A.L. Burgos, author of the book Sec4rets:

1) What is your latest project and why is it a must-read?
My latest project is the first entry in my YA drama series “Sec4rets” Well I don’t want to say a must read cause that might make me sound big headed and cocky lol. I will say people will enjoy it because at one point in our lives we all were in High School and dealt with drama. It is full of drama and it will take you to the world of the 4 teenagers in the book. I also tackle real teen issues that parents need to be aware of so adults can read this too no matter what age.

2) What was the inspiration behind it?
My inspiration was old school teen drama shows from when I grew up. I loved to sit in front of my TV every week and be dragged into a world full of drama and excitement. I rather watch fake scripted drama than have my own lol. I felt like all the good teen dramas were gone so I wanted to recapture that feeling with my book.

3) What is one of the biggest challenges you’ve faced in getting your book released?
At one point it was more about me actually finishing it. I have this tendency to start a book and never finish cause I then start to get so many other ideas in my head for a new book. So that was my toughest challenge. Getting it self published wasn’t too difficult except coming up with a cover that people would love. So Katherine Rochholz did my cover for me and because of her I had a cover people loved.

4) Do you write with music or do you prefer silence? If with music, what do you usually play?
I need music playing as I write and I write mostly at night. I listen to anything from Gaga to Mariah Carey and more. Music just helps to get my creative juices flowing. I am listening to music right now.

5) Name one book you wish you had written.
Flowers in the attic by the amazing VC Andrews. Her books are so amazing and I love to read her books. I get caught up in her stories and that’s what a great author does.

6) Pen/Paper or Computer?
Computer. I prefer to type my hand writing is horrible

7) What are you reading/listening to at the moment?
I am jamming right now to some Toni Braxton. Have all her albums on shuffle.

8) Ebook or Print?
Print. I prefer to have a actual book in my hand. The feel of a book is amazing to me.

9) What is one thing you wish you’d known before publishing?
How nerve racking it is waiting to see what people think of your book. I get nervous when I get a new review. I wonder if it will be a bad one of not. Thank God so far I havent got a bad one yet, but I know one day I will cause you cant please everyone.

10) Name one fictional character you wish was real.
Santa Clause cause at least I know I would get gifts every Christmas lol..

Book Synopsis

We all have secrets…
Mark, Tiffany, Kevin and Kim are best friends. When they enter High School together they find out that it’s not all fun and games as they find out that drama is involved. They must stick together to get through High School but when they start to keep secrets from each other,ones that can tear them apart, their friendships will be tested as the secrets come out. So will their friendships survive or will the secrets be too much and tear them apart? Let the secrets come out…

Author Bio

A. L. Burgos (Anthony Luis Burgos) lives in NYC in the gritty area of Harlem. He never ran the streets of Harlem so he found the joys of writing. At the age of 10 he began to write and he discovered that it was an escape from the outside world. YA drama and mystery thrillers was his passion and he wrote his first story (not published) titled “Forever Friends” at 11. His dream was to become a famous author one day so he could be able to move his mother out of Harlem. Anthony has self published his first YA drama “Sec4rets” and it is getting rave reviews from readers claiming its a edge of your seat ride and amazing, while at the same time tackling real life teen issues. He is working on some new books hoping to be released in 2013. (Check out his website as well- Jamie B.)

