Tags

, , , , ,

Cassadee made a really interesting choice by singing Miranda’s “Over You”. It was definitely a departure from her usual style and I think it was amazing. She sounded better than Miranda herself has in some of the performances and I think this is her best vocal yet. She also changed it up a little, which I liked.

Wow, Cody actually performed “Crazy in Love”. Looks like Team Jamie is really going for it with the song choices tonight. I love how he sounds on this; it’s definitely more entertaining to me than the original… I was never a big fan of that song. Some of these notes are insane.

Amanda performed a song I never heard of again called “Stars.” I love how she is going for these more obscure songs. Most of the other people are going things I have no trouble at all recognizing. I think she is one of my favorite people in this competition, she can do almost anything vocally.

Finally, Sylvia closes up the Team Jamie performances with a cover of an Alicia Keys song called “Girl on Fire”. I think she’s doing an amazing job and should definitely be safe after the voting’s over. I wouldn’t be surprised to see her go on to the finale.

Now it’s time for a recap of Team Michelle’s performances 🙂 I’m actually catching up via their youtube channel so, for me, Dez kicked it off. He chose a song called “Feeling Good” and wow…. this is a very nice choice. It really suits his voice and I love the old-style music and singing. I think he’s safe if there is any justice in the voting after that one.

Sigh… Trevin you are breaking my heart right now. I mean, first Chris Brown and now Usher? Really? A very “safe” song choice, but he’s doing well with it. It’s amazing to me how many of these performers are doing a better job than the original singers.

Melanie chose to sing “Seven Nation Army” to try and win over the voting public. I think she’s doing a pretty good job on this song. The cool thing about her is she seems to get better as the competition goes on. She’s keeping her unique style while toning her initial quirkiness down a little.

Bryan finished Team Michelle off with a version of Billy Joel’s “New York State of Mind”. I love the original, but he is definitely doing the song justice. I think the judges should be thanking the producers for taking the decision out of their hands at this point. I wouldn’t want to have to try and make cuts if I were them.

You might remember that there were two people that made the top ten who were not on either of our teams. The first one is Nicholas and he chose to perform “Lean on Me”. He is, to me, one of the most unique performers in this competition and I would love to see him keep going. He’s good at rock, soul… it’s unreal.

Finally, there was Terry. He chose Bryan Adams’ “Summer of ’69”. I love his voice, but I don’t know if he should get to the final. He reminds me vocally too much of other singers- I swear this man should’ve been an artist back in the ’80s. He sounds so at home with that music.

It’s amazing… if I didn’t have my team to root for this season, I think I would be happy with anyone being the winner this season. They really got some incredible talent this yet. So what do you all think? Are you happy with how things are going so far? Do you have a favorite? Which of our teams are you rooting for? Comment and let’s chat about it!

