Tags

, , ,

Book Club BashWelcome to the first day of the Book Club Bash 🙂 I found out about it through Novel Publicity and had to participate. I’ll be introducing you to a bunch of writers this week, and one will be sharing a guest post with us! Let’s start things off with an interview with Pavarti K. Tyler, author of Shadow On the Wall. Come back later on for an excerpt from Shadow and more info about Pavarti 🙂

1) What is your latest project and why is it a must-read?
Shadow on the Wall is the project for the Book Club Bash. I always have about 175 different things going so I can’t say it’s my latest project 🙂 Shadow is a really special book to me and so far has been well received by readers and competitions. I hope you’ll check it out and let me know what you think!

2) What was the inspiration behind it?
A friend of mine wanted someone to write a story about a Middle Eastern superhero and had a contest on his blog. I started writing and the next thing I knew I had a novel! Apparently I had something to say!

3) What is one of the biggest challenges you’ve faced in getting your book released?
Shadow received attention early on from an agent and a few publishers. However, their requirements for publishing it would have changed the story too much. Shadow is a violent book. It’s a dark book. But it’s also a book about hope. You can’t find that light unless you sink all the way into the blackness and Shadow takes you there. I couldn’t justify lightening it for the sake of sales. The message I had to share was too important to me. It was hard to walk away from those things, but ultimately the right move for me.

4) Do you write with music or do you prefer silence? If with music, what do you usually play?
I listen to music all the time. For Shadow on the wall I actually made a playlist just for the book.

5) Name one book you wish you had written.
Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

6) Pen/Paper or Computer?

Computer all the way. My handwriting is ok, but slow. I can type ludicrously fast, sometimes faster than I think. I go back and read things I’ve written and didn’t even realize I had!

7) What are you reading/listening to at the moment?
I’m reading SILVER: A New Age Dawns by Keira Michelle Telford – It’s book 4 in the SILVER series. It’s AMAZING.

For music I’ve been really into Meiko lately, very poppy with a cutting edge. Fun music to write to or sing along with.

8) Ebook or Print?
Print. I don’t have an ereader so I end up reading on my phone which blows.

9) What is one thing you wish you’d known before publishing?
How to manage my time! I’ve wasted so many hours!

10) Name one fictional character you wish was real.
Jacob Black, because I’d show him something no infant imprint could ever imagine!

