It’s been a busy few days here with the Book Club Bash going on. I’ve had the chance to introduce you all to some awesome writers and had fun getting to know them 🙂 I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have. After this post, it’s back to our normally scheduled posting. Before I get to Monique’s interview, let’s get to know her better…

Synopsis

SR CoverSet in New York and Paris amid the glamorous and competitive worlds of art and real estate, Scorpio Rising takes the reader from the late 1940s to the 1960s through the tumultuous lives of its heroes.There is Alex Ivanov, the son of a Russian immigrant and part-time prostitute. He yearns to escape his sordid life and achieve fame and fortune. His dreams of becoming a world-class builder are met with countless obstacles, yet he perseveres in the hope of someday receiving the recognition he craves.Half a world away, Brigitte Dartois is an abused teenager who runs into the arms of a benefactor with an agenda all his own. When she finds out that her boss has an ulterior motive, she flees again, determined to earn her living through her art. This career brings her fame, but also the unwanted attention of her early abuser.

Monique Domovitch’s debut novel, Scorpio Rising, is a compelling tale filled with finely etched characters and a superb understanding of the power of ambition. Scorpio Rising promises to resonate with all who once had a dream.

The Reviews are in

I’m looking forward to seeing what happens in the next book of the series. ~ Deb Cushman

I LOVED the book, and will look forward to reading the sequel to it. ~ EmJayKay

Both stories had the common theme of ambition, which I thought was very different; at least, it was told in a very different way, in my opinion. ~ Jenn Booksessed

Purchase Links

Kindle Edition ~ Paperback Edition

About the Author

Monique Domovitch was born in Canada, where she led a number of successful careers, from top model during the 70s, to financial adviser with her own national television show. Now, in what she calls the best part of her life, she launches into yet another career, this time as a fiction writer. Now, with two novels under her belt, and a contract for three murder-mysteries with Obsidian, she seems once again, headed for success.

Q&A

HeadshotWhat is your latest project and why is it a must-read?

My latest novels are the Scorpio Series. I was thrilled to read the reviews. Readers love them and have called then un put-downable, page turners and an edge of your seat read.

What was the inspiration behind it?

My inspiration was twofold, one, the cutthroat business of real estate, and second, the effect of abuse on children as they grow up. The result is a strong read with characters you love and hate and can’t forget once the books are finished. One piece of advice, start with the first one, Scorpio Rising.

What is one of the biggest challenges you’ve faced in getting your book released?

My greatest challenge was finding the courage to put it out there. I wrote this book a few years ago and then let it collect dust on the shelves, until a friend read it and read me the riot act. She said if I didn’t publish it, I was a chicken. How could I not take the challenge?

Do you write with music or do you prefer silence? If with music, what do you usually play?

I’ll write with any background sound, even loud TV. I have heard, however, that classical music helps the creative mind. Maybe I’ll give that a try.

Name one book you wish you had written.

Anything by Dominick Dunne. Gosh I loved this author. An Inconvenient Woman, the Two Mrs. Grenvilles. How could anybody forget those books. Or, A Season In purgatory. The man was brilliant.

Pen/Paper or Computer?

Oh, computer by all means.

What are you reading/listening to at the moment?

I just finished Jeffrey Archer’s Only Time Will Tell. It’s a big story. International setting, much like my novels and with characters that grow from childhood, also much like mine.

Ebook or Print?

Available both in ebook and in print at Amazon’s.

What is one thing you wish you’d known before publishing?

Mainly, I wish I’d had the courage to do it sooner. I owe my friend a big debt of gratitude. Thanks to her I did it. And that’s all that counts.

Name one fictional character you wish was real.

I worked with my characters for two years, so they are all very much alive to me. I especially love Brigitte. She may appear weak to some, but actually she is incredibly strong and resourceful. She has the strength of her convictions, and lives according to them.

