Tags

, , ,

If you’ve been following my posts, you know what a huge music geek I am. Genre and age are irrelevant to me. If it’s a good song, I like it. My early exposure to music was, as with my people, through cartoon characters. I had Urban Chipmunk by the Chipmunks, a Strawberry Shortcake record called Sweet Songs, and others. There was one exception: My Shirley Temple record.

It wasn’t until I was around 10 or 11 that I finally bought an album myself (one that didn’t feature cartoon characters). That was Billy Joel’s An Innocent Man. I paired that with a cartoon/real album hybrid. It was a Jem and the Holograms tape with songs by the characters as well as acts like The Jets, Toto, and New Edition.

So why Billy Joel for a first tape? Why not? I mean, what’s not to love about this guy? He has fun songs, some really nice lyrics and this song in particular has an awesome old school do-wop thing going for it:

I think his is one of the sweetest songs I have heard- I totally feel the lyrics. The harmonies are like candy to my ears and I just wanna get one more listen in. It’s simple, sweet songs like this that really get to people and stand the test of time.

What was your first record? Do you agree this song is awesome? Comment and let’s chat about it!

