Tags

, , , , , ,

Broken PiecesBroken Pieces by Rachel Thompson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I want to preface this review by saying there may be some material in it that parents may feel is inappropriate. I do think there are valuable lessons, so if you have a teenager, you may want to look it over yourself and see if you are comfortable with sharing it. It could be a great teaching tool.

Rachel isn’t new to publishing. She’s mostly known for snark-filled collections dealing with the differences between men and women and other such topics. This time, she changed things up, delivering some serious essays and poetry dealing with everything from childhood abuse to loss.

This was a very emotional read that really touched me. Rachel opens her life up to her readers, exposing her pain along with her strength and determination to persevere, no matter what life has thrown at her. I’m sure everyone reading this book would be able to relate to something Rachel talks about and come away with a feeling they’re not alone.

I recommend this book for anyone who is into biographies in particular. If you were already a fan of Thompson’s other work, read with an open mind. There’s none of her trademark humor, but there is some great writing.

View all my reviews

