Tags

, , ,

As you may remember, I mentioned how CP and I were going to be picking things for each other to review once a week. After glancing through the DVD collection, I finally decided on Bad Santa. Hey, it’s hard to find something around here he hasn’t watched yet! I mean, the movie was still in the original wrapping! I see a lot of trips to the library in my future to find movies for him.

I thought that pick was going to massively backfire on me partway through the film,  but it looks like it all worked out and I won’t be subjected to all kinds of things about snakes in retaliation. Yes, I have a very unhealthy terror of those things. Anyway…. what did CP pick for me?

Stand By Me. I guess this is the part where I should admit how embarrassingly behind the times I am when I comes to movies. I didn’t see the original Star Wars movies until he shipped them to me- he was still in PA at the time- so we could watch them together over the phone. He finally got me to watch The Goonies several months back, and National Lampoon’s Vacation only graced my TV after he moved down here with his scary-extensive movie collection.

I have no excuses, other than I have always been more into music, TV and books than cinema. Add to the fact I was too busy crushing on Fred Savage, Kirk Cameron and Micheal J. Fox to care about the Coreys and River Phoenix, and it all all adds up to total movie-watching fail. I was also nine, so that may have factored into that as well.

The BodyWhen we decided to trade review material, CP jumped at the chance to get me to watch this one. I settled in for the show, hoping CP’s near-flawless record would stay intact. I have to say, I was not disappointed.

For anyone who may be as movie-challenged as me, the movie follows four young boys who are on a mission to find a dead body in the woods and is based on a story by Stephen King. Along the way, they encounter different obstacles that almost lead them to give up the quest.

I loved the acting in this movie; especially by Phoenix and Feldman. They demonstrated skill far beyond their years here, and I am sad one is gone and another dealt with so many personal demons that have derailed what could’ve been a major career.

Another really great part of this movie was the interactions between the kids. They felt so real and genuine. There was that antagonistic aspect to their relationships, but you could still feel the warmth there. No matter how annoyed they may have gotten with each other during their journey, they still jumped to their friend’s defense.

Despite the simple premise of the story, there was also a lot of depth to it. Will Wheaton’s character (Gordie) struggles with the loss of his brother and the feeling maybe it should’ve been him instead, while Feldman’s (Teddy) struggles to remember his father’s heroics in battle, despite the man’s mental illness.

Random observations: I can’t believe that little Vern grew up to be the hot guy at the end of Mariah’s “Heartbreaker” video.

I also was pleasantly surprised to see Kiefer Sutherland in this as Ace, a town bully. Even back then, the velvet was in full effect. All you 24 fans out there know what I mean. 🙂

Overall, an awesome pick that I really enjoyed.