Tags

, , , , ,

I went browsing the local library to get some review material for you and I’ve got a great one today! Read all about it and then check out my blog tour review from earlier today! 🙂

Today’s music spotlight is getting put on a very surprising discovery. Awhile back, ABC Family was playing reruns of Still Standing. We both became addicted to the show and couldn’t help adding the hour-long block to our daily routine.

We were surprised when the actress who played the oldest daughter sang in an episode. We looked it up and found out she is actually a recording artist. Renee’s self-titled release came out in 2004 and features some surprising song choices.

“Sunday Kind of Love” and “Breaking Up is Hard to Do” make a strong statement. She is not an actress that’s trying to be a pop star. She is a true vocalist who has a real love for Jazz and oldies. Her version of “Sunday Kind of Love” actually reminds me of Christina Aguilera’s version at times, although I have to say I think Olstead sounds better.

Her vocals are clear and stunningly good in her upper register; I love what she does with the Janis Joplin song “Summertime”. I definitely plan to add this release to my music collection at some point. Wanna see for yourself? Check this out:

So what do you think? Are you loving this as much as I am? Are you surprised to learn she sings as well as acts? Comment and let’s talk about it!

