Tags

, , , , ,

So, I have been trying to avoid watching something for a very long time now. Something I have refused to watch over and over. Something that hits a little too close to home.

When I was a kid, we used to make going to the beach a weekly thing. We’d pack up some snacks and spend the entire day at the beach. I’d swim, take walks, read, and listen to whatever mixtape I brought along that day. We even used to swim way out past the pier and hang out on a sand bar.

Relaxing isn't it? Well.... until you think about all the stuff you're potentially swimming with!

Relaxing isn’t it? Well…. until you think about all the stuff you’re potentially swimming with!

Needless to say, I was not a big fan of the idea of watching a certain movie where it is not safe to go in the water. Yes, that’s right: He forced me to watch Jaws. For people as movie-challenged as I tend to be, it’s the story of a sleepy island town that is thrown into a panic after a shark starts feeding along its beaches.

Despite assurances that “it wasn’t that bad”, there were a couple of graphic scenes that made me look away and one that had me actually jumping out of my seat. Despite that, most of the movie was enjoyable. The acting was top-notch, and it was pretty interesting to see how the real villain of the movie isn’t the shark-it’s the greedy mayor who refuses to close the beaches and risk losing the summer money. Even after being warned that the shark that caused the attack hadn’t been caught, as he believed had happened. He, in fact, is so obsessed with showing everything is fine that he actually forces people to go into the water.

Bureaucracy in action, people. It’s a beautiful thing.

My favorite character in the movie was Matt Hooper (Richard Dreyfuss), the oceanographer. He’s called into the town to help determine exactly what kind of shark killed a woman, and how to get rid of it. He’s almost like a mad scientist, and a bit arrogant. Still, I loved his interactions with people. Especially when he is reacting to Mayor Dumbass.

So, there you have it-the reason why I am plotting something really evil for next week in retaliation  Maybe. Did you like this movie? Refusing to watch it for the same reasons I did? Comment and let’s chat about it! When you’re done, hop on over to The Bialog to see what CP reviewed. See y’all tomorrow!

