Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Season of PassageThe Season of Passage by Christopher Pike

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book, one of Pike’s adult novels, tells the tale of a space crew who embarks of a mission to mars in order to find out what happened to the first people to explore the planet. Along the way, they encounter things they never believed possible.

I remember reading this book for the first time back in the ’90s and getting chills. The whole mission to mars was a tense ride and Pike builds the anticipation gradually, revealing bits and pieces of the puzzle in doses that leave you wanting more.

While Pike doesn’t write down to his teen audiences, and I usually find very little difference between the two, this book is a bit more racy in some parts than his old teen novels. Each character felt alive, and the interactions between them were great! I think that’s why I am so drawn to Pike’s work–even when he’s writing these out-there stories, he grounds the characters in reality.

If there was one weak part to this book, is was mostly in the story-within-the-story. I don’t want to say too much about it, as it will give a bit too much, but suffice it to say some of the characters and their actions in it were irritating.

Overall, a great read that I would recommend to horror and fantasy fans.

View all my reviews

