Tags

, , , , , , ,

NBC will be bringing us another episode of The Voice tonight, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. The talent level and the coaches are just so great this year–I’m really looking forward to seeing the two new guys in action once the teams are set. I’ll, of course, be here tomorrow to talk all about tonight’s episode. In the meantime, let’s talk the ACMs.

Now, CP hates awards shows. Seriously. He is, however, kind enough to suck it up and allow me to tune in to the country shows. I will say that I have managed to work on my former awards show addiction. I used to tune in to see every single one. Now the only “can’t miss” shows are the ones focused on Country. 

Here are my personal highlights of the evening…

The Band Perry did an amazing job performing their new single, “Done”. They brought so much energy to the stage last night, I wanted to jump up and start dancing. 🙂

Carrie Underwood did an awesome job with “Two Black Cadillacs”. I would say it was actually my favorite performance of the song vocally. The staging was cool, too, as a car actually drove onto the stage. Carrie emerged dressed in an old-fashioned black dress, complete with gloves.

Little Big Town premiered a new single that was, by far, my favorite of the  evening. It was called “Your Side of the Bed” and featured dancers suspended in air, moving against a large bed. It reminded me of Pink’s funhouse tour.

Miranda Lambert changed up the vocals on “Mama’s Broken Heart”, which I really enjoyed. It’s disturbing, however, just how psycho she can look when doing this one! 🙂 She also provided an awesome moment when getting all emotional over one of her many (well-deserved) wins last night.

Finally, Eric Church performed “Like Jesus Does.” He did a wonderful acoustic version with a wonderful vocalist named Valerie June singing backup. They were a great mix, and I loved how they had him in black and white as the focus, while she was shown to the side in full color. The only other color in the performance was his green guitar. Very effective.

The best award-based moment has to go to Luke Bryan getting emotional as he accepted the Entertainer of the Year award. I also liked Blake, who lost, kidding afterwards this would be Luke’s first and last time co-hosting the show.

As for The Voice, the competition is getting feistier between the coaches as they try to lure the talent to their side. Here are my favorites:

Savannah has to be my favorite of them all–she did an incredible job with the song and reminds me so much of Jennifer Pena. Seriously… look Jennifer up on Youtube.

Patrick performed one of my all-time favorite songs and didn’t make me want to cry too much doing it. LOL. Yes, I do tend to be overly-critical of people doing this one–I love it that much. His voice has such a rough quality to it, yet it’s not overly so.


Finally… Brandon did justice to a classic that was a huge part of my childhood. If you grew up in the 80s, you know exactly what I mean. 🙂 I loved the shock on Shakira’s face when he hit that huge note near the end.

So, there you have it. The ACMs and The Voice in a nutshell. 🙂 What did you think of my picks? Who were your personal favorites? Comment below and let’s talk about it!

