Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I would’ve had to have been living in a cave to have never heard of this show at all, but I only recently have gotten around to watching it. Once again, this is at CP Bialois’ insistence. It didn’t take me long to get hooked at all and this show is seriously stressing me out (in a good way).

1) I love Christopher Eccelston as The Doctor. Of the three that have been featured in repeats on BBC America recently, he is by far my favorite. His companion, Rose, is awesome as well. There is such an emotional depth to their episodes, I can’t help but get invested. What do I hate? It figures that my absolute favorite doctor had one of the shortest, if not the shortest, tenure.

2) I love the dialogue on this show. There are some amazing quips in here, especially between Eccelston/Piper and Smith/Coleman. What do I hate? It goes by way too fast! Before you know it, it’s over and you’re wishing you had a DVR to watch it all over again. (Yes, I know we need to get into the 21st century already.)

3) The series has some amazing and engaging stories that pull me in and keep me waiting to find out what’s going to happen next. There is an energy and pace to the show that is great to watch. So what’s to hate? Well, let’s just put it this way: One of my first two full episodes of the show was the one in which The Doctor and Rose return to find that Rose has actually been missing for a whole year. While they are dealing with the fallout from her mother, they also have to contend with aliens who have taken over the government and are plotting to kill off any expert in extraterrestrial life. Naturally, the episode ended on a cliffhanger, causing me to curse out the TV and count the minutes until the second part aired. Yes, I know it was the next day. So? That 24 hours was seriously traumatic, y’all. Not to mention the series 7 finale. If they get rid of his current companion, Clara, I will be seriously upset.

So there you have it. What I loved and hated about my first exposure to Doctor Who. What is my final verdict on the show as a whole? Well, let’s just say I already have several DVDs on hold at the local library and am counting the days until November. How about you? Who is your favorite incarnation of The Doctor? Do you have a favorite episode/companion? Comment and let’s share the pain.

