Tags

, , , , , ,

HerStory: Fiction Honoring Women's History MonthHerStory: Fiction Honoring Women’s History Month by Dorothy L. Abrams

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

HerStory, a short story collection celebrating women’s history month, was introduced to me by a friend. She had booked several of the writers on her radio show, and we got the chance to speak with them. After hearing them discuss their stories, I was intrigued and volunteered to review it.

One of the things that I enjoyed most about the collection was the fact some of these stories have a basis in real events. I was able to discover some fascinating women that I hadn’t heard of up to that point, and I loved the styles of the different writers.

A few highlights for me featured a young woman delivering a message to the confederacy during the Civil War, a woman who risked everything to be with a black man in the south, and a tale of a cowgirl. Another favorite was about a woman who defies the rules preventing women from going into mines to do her duty and save lives.

If you like strong female characters, and historical fiction, I recommend this one highly.

View all my reviews

