Tags

, , , ,

Phantom (Dark Musicals, #1)Phantom by Laura DeLuca

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

NOTE: I was provided a free copy for promotional purposes, with no expectation of a favorable review.

This book, the first of the Dark Musicals Trilogy, follows the story of a young girl named Rebecca, who finds herself thrust into the High School spotlight after winning the lead in the school’s production of Phantom Of The Opera. The production is plagued with accidents, threats against Rebecca, and a bitter rivalry between two of the stars for Rebecca’s affections.

The author manages to capture the High School experience perfectly, while also introducing readers to the story of the Phantom, as well as the Wiccan religion. The writing is descriptive, and the characters are fun and relatable. I felt myself rooting for Rebecca to succeed in both the play, and with her choice between the two boys. I loved the secondary characters as well, who added a nice texture to the story. It actually reminded me a lot of the Christopher Pike books I fell in love with back in High School. I would definitely recommend this one to YA fans, and am looking forward to seeing how the whole story plays out.

View all my reviews

