Tags

, , , , , ,

Demon (Dark Musicals, #2)Demon by Laura DeLuca

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

NOTE: I was provided a copy for promotional purposes with no expectation of a favorable review. I will also warn anyone who has not read book that they may want to skip this review if you don’t want to know any details of what happened before.

As I loved the first in this series, I couldn’t wait for the chance to sit down and read book two. As with the first in the trilogy, the plot partly revolves around a production of a classic musical. In this one, they are doing a production of Demon Barber and, like their ill-fated production of Phantom, terrible things begin to happen, annoying the director and causing Rebecca and Justyn trouble.

Rebecca has been having a hard time adjusting to campus life while Justyn is being a rock of confidence, assuring her they’ll do just fine. Rebecca isn’t sure, as the talent pool here is far greater than at her old High School. She’s also on edge after finding out there’s a rapist on campus, a man she nearly falls victim to. The incident leaves her a mess, putting both her future on stage and her relationship with Justyn in jeopardy.

I love how this series takes classic musicals and adapts them to the modern day, all while paying homage to their originals through the productions the characters are putting on. I also love the progression in Rebecca’s relationship with Justyn, as well as the friendships they form with some of the nicer members of the Demon Barber cast. As with the first, Deluca builds the tension and leaves you not wanting to put it down. I highly recommend this one for anyone who loves YA, suspense, and some classic theatre.

View all my reviews

