I couldn’t agree with this post more. What do you guys think?

Florida Writers Conference Blog

I’ve been writing this blog now for about four and a half years. In that time, I’ve heard from a handful of people who’ve been offended by the words I’ve arranged in this space from time to time, and I’ve probably offended several others who haven’t expressed their feelings back to me.

And while I’ve never written a post specifically with the purpose of offending anyone (except Yankee fans), it’s my honest belief that if I don’t periodically offend someone, I’m really not doing my job.

Why?

Because not all offense is gratuitous. Some of it is the byproduct of one person honestly writing opinions on something, and another having a visceral emotional response to those opinions. And both ends of that equation are okay.

Why is it okay to offend people sometimes?

Because I don’t set out to do it. As you read, I don’t know your circumstance. I…

View original post 395 more words

