Tags

, ,

You may have seen the cover reveal I did the other day for Louise’s book, The Making of Nebraska Brown. Well, today, I have the chance to chat with her and find out a little bit more about the book and her writing process. Enjoy! 🙂

1) Tell us a bit about yourself and how you became a writer.

I’m the girl-next-door with a pen, the one you see hanging out in the yard with her nose in a book. I’m addicted to my dog, loyal to my friends and crazy about my family. I’ve always been the type that adored escaping into the world of books. For as long as I can remember I visited the literary likes of “Little Women” and answered the wild call of Jack London’s works. Reading led to an almost unquenchable thirst for the perfectly turned phrase. Eventually I realized that I not only wanted to discover it, I wanted to create it.

2) You are getting ready to release a new book. Tell us about it and what inspired you to write it.

The Making of Nebraska Brown is a YA/NA contemporary mystery about one girl’s inadvertent journey far from her home, her family and her identity, and the lengths she’ll go to try and find her way back again. Think Tuscan Sun meets Oz.  The inspiration for this story arrived on the wings of a song, which many of my stories do. I’m a big lyrics girl. I love to pay attention to the tale behind the music.

COVER REVEAL

3) What drew you to the mystery genre?

 I spent my youthful allowance on a large collection of Nancy Drew mysteries and bubblegum. I outgrew the bubblegum, mostly, but the books – mysteries in particular – retained my attention. I love the element of surprise, the not-knowing what comes next, the edge-of-your-seat suspense.

4) Tell us a bit about your writing process. What kind of schedule do you keep, and do you have anything special you do to get into the writing zone?

Oh – if only I could write the days away! Unfortunately, life gets in the way most of the time. My schedule is hectic, so I carve out writing time early in the morning and again in the evening, before I turn in. Optimal time is the morning, though, when my mind is most receptive and alert, and my Muse has had her a.m. java fix.

5) What’s the first book you remember reading?

Johnathan Livingston Seagull. That bird captivated me. The book’s message, “Keep working on love” was one that intrigued me, even as a child. I keep meaning to read it again. I’ll have to add it to my huge TBR list!

6) What’s one of the most helpful bits of advice you’ve come across/received since you started writing?

Rejection is only as powerful and leveling as you allow it to be. For any/every writer it is unavoidable. Accept it, acknowledge it, and keep writing through it. Do not allow it to define you. Instead make it the driving force behind your success. Oh and READ. You cannot write if you don’t READ!

7) What character would you most like to meet in real life?

That’s a tough one. It’s a toss-up between Katniss Everdeen and Curious George.

8) Name one book you wish you’d written and why.

Jaws. This is not simply a book-to-film adaptation. It is a cultural icon. It changed the relationship the entire population has with the ocean. I would love to have been the original creative force behind such a movement.

9) How do you promote your work?

Tirelessly, constantly and with as much help as I can scrounge up! Blatant self-promotion feels about as comfortable as wearing someone else’s glasses, but if you don’t get over it, you’ll get nowhere fast.

10) Besides your upcoming release, what else have you got planned for your readers?

I have such exciting stuff on the burner. My next book (which I have a huge crush on) is called Sing the Wild Horses – a contemporary YA, quirky, fun family drama. Also, I’m wrapping up the first in a romantic series set in rural Pennsylvania, entitled Heart Choices. Please check my website for complete deets! www.louisecaiola.com. And follow me on Twitter and Facebook  Thank you!

Connect with Louise

My blog | Twitter | Facebook

