Tags

, , , , , ,

Assured Destruction (Assured Destruction #1)Assured Destruction by Michael F. Stewart

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

NOTE: I received a free copy in order to catch up on the series before reviewing book #2 for a blog tour, with no expectation of a favorable review.

I probably should preface this and my review of book two (coming soon) with a disclaimer–I am in no way a tech geek, so I am not even going to pretend to know whether or not some of the tech aspects that come into play in this series are realistic or not. I would be whatever is far below the “script kiddie” level. 🙂

This tale centers on a young girl named Janus who has essentially retreated into a world of virtual friends to cope with the fact her father abandoned their family, her mother is sick with MS, and their business is floundering.

Each night she descends into what she calls “Shadownet”, a network of computers (some from former customers) and takes of the various personas she’s created. When an investigation into stolen data begins and Janus starts getting herself into trouble with her skills, she has to start putting those skills to the test in order to solve her problems.

I found Janus to be one of those characters you can’t help but feel for. She has an attitude and a humor (especially when playing her roles of Shadownet) that I really enjoyed. The writing style was engaging and the pace moved well, keeping me glued to my kindle to find out what happens. By the time I was done, I couldn’t wait to read the next one.

I recommend this one for anyone who likes YA with a bit of mystery.

View all my reviews

