Good afternoon!!! Sorry for another late post today, there was a lot to catch up on and I finally did it! Woot!!! I rewarded myself by listening to Kelly Clarkson’s Wrapped in Red, followed by watching her Christmas special. I thought that this would be a great thing to feature today, so I’ll be sharing some thoughts. Don’t forget to check out the other awesome bloggers participating in the hop at the image below. And don’t forget to enter my giveaway in celebration of the hop! There are lots of chances to win! 🙂 One prize each will be awarded!

So, Kelly Clarkson’s Cautionary Christmas Music Tale aired last night and it was awesome. The special featured some great songs off of her Wrapped in Red CD mixed with a kid reading a story about putting together the special together, which was acted out by Kelly and others. A few highlights include….

  • Kelly apparently selling her soul to something worse than the devil… a network executive.
  • Kelly blackmailing Reba and Trisha Yearwood into participating in the special with her.
  • Blake Shelton losing it at the end after being pushed aside most of the special and forced to tailor Kelly’s costumes instead.

As for the CD, I really love it. There is a mix of classic tunes and some originals. Here is a run down on my top originals and top classics….

Originals

3) Underneath the Tree: I love this one because it’s so energetic and fun. It reminds me a lot of Mariah’s “All I Want For Christmas is You”.

2) Just For Now: It’s a haunting, a slow track about aside grudges and arguments “just for now”.

1) Wrapped in Red: This song has a bit of a ’50s/’60s vibe to it and has a slow, dramatic sound to it. I love the story it tells too.

Classics

3) Baby, it’s Cold Outside: This is a bit of a disturbing song and I don’t generally like it much, but she and Ronnie sound incredible on it and I can’t help liking their version.

2) My Favorite Things: This isn’t normally a song I hear associated with Christmas, but this one has a special place in my heart so I have to include it. I like how Kelly jazzed it up a bit while still hanging on to the original spirit of the song.

1) Silent Night. I really can’t say enough about this version and nothing I do say will do it justice, so let’s just watch it shall we?

And there you have it–my favorite things. 🙂 Did you see this special? Have you purchased Kelly’s Christmas CD? I’d love to hear what you all thought. If you didn’t, feel free to share you own favorite specials and songs. See you all again in the morning with something special to close out the hop!

