If you were checking out the blog yesterday, you know that I featured a new author who has also become a good friend, Angela Fattig. Today, she is releasing her debut novel and I am happy to get the chance to share not only the cover, but a synopsis and excerpt! She’s also going to be insanely busy with a Facebook Takeover Tour, so come back tomorrow to see where she’ll be and when. 🙂

Synopsis

Book 1 front cover onlyThe world in 2044, filled with hate and corruption, finds that the ‘God’ of the Bible is not what He appears to be or is ‘He’.

Dr. Jay Winder, a man with a secret unknown to even him, alongside Dr. Mandi Stevens must work with a government he disagrees with in order to save the human race from extinction.

Faced with said extinction, he finds love in a burning world filled with rubble, ash, death, and betrayal.

Does he have the strength, and can he find the will to overcome his past and vanquish the enemy in time? Or will he allow his secret and the betrayal to cause their demise?

Excerpt — Chapter Two: “Communication”

The man, who, again I can only guess as being a Secret Service Agent, said, “Everyone please take a seat and we will begin.” I took a seat next to Mandi and we exchanged curious glances then turned our attention to the front of the room. Again he spoke, “We brought you here today because at approximately 10 A.M. EST today we received a coded transmission from what appears to be a spacecraft orbiting in Earth’s upper atmosphere. Since that time, our top decoders have been working to decipher the message and what we have so far, frankly scares the living hell out of us. We are told by the decoders that it is a very lengthy message and may take many hours if not days to interpret and we wanted to bring in the top professionals in your fields to advise us on what we have thus far.” He then turned on a projector and what appeared on the screen was exactly what I had imagined. This was what I had warned them about.

“We, being your creators, have come to the end of our experiment and plan to extinguish the human race. Please know…”

Oh My God! I hoped I was wrong but it seems I am not. Ironic, wasn’t it? My scientific theory states that the ‘God’ in whom most of us were taught to believe does not exist. Yet, today, I have instinctively invoked His name. I guess this was another paradox with which I must come to terms. But not now. Not this day.

There was a lot of chatter around the room and the Speaker of the House said, “Can this be right? Are you sure the decoders have this right? My God.” Several at the table made the sign of the cross, indicating silent prayer while remaining attentive to the meeting. The Speaker of the House looked at me with the most desperate expression of shock and disbelief, then faced the President and said, “So Dr. Winder, he was correct with his theory? It can’t be. What do we do?”

The President looked from me to the Speaker and said, “Well I guess you, and me, should have listened to Dr. Winder the first time instead of making him look like a joke and a fool. If he was right mankind’s demise will be on your shoulders.”

The President looked back to me and asked, “Dr. Winder what is your assessment of the message we have so far?”

I was in shock. The President knew of the meeting? I didn’t think they would have told him. “Mr. President, Vice-President, I believe the message is accurate thus far and it may not be too late. If we plan well and act quickly we might have a chance, at least to go out fighting.” I replied.

The Air Force General chimed in, “I do know that all branches of the military have, for the past 10 years, been working on several new weapons and most are ready for use. Will this help?” He directed towards me. Me. The man who, a few brief months ago, was viewed as a lonely soul lost somewhere between genius and insanity with a leaning towards the latter. I wasn’t sure whether to feel vindicated or outraged. I decided to act on neither. This was not the place for hair splitting or revenge.

“I believe so, assuming what you have is the high-tech crème de la crème. We must bear in mind that they created us and far more advanced than us. Our firepower must out do and/or outwit theirs. We really can’t be certain what they are capable of.” Everyone nodded in agreement.

The President added, “Dr. Winder I want you and Dr. Stevens to lead the operation. I want the full cooperation of our military forces and I want all foreign governments along with their top scientists, astrophysics, and astronomers to be in constant communication and cooperation with your team.” He then turned to Sandy. “Sandy I want you to see to having all our guests put in their own rooms and to make sure the Dr. Winder, Stevens and their team need nothing.” He turned back to address us again. “Ladies and gentlemen we have a war on our hand. Not just any war, a war that threatens our very existence as a species. We have a duty to the human race to protect and preserve the future of our children, grandchildren, and generations to come. If there is nothing more at this time I will adjourn this meeting.”

“Mr. President,” I said, “We must not notify the public of this new information. If word of this leaked out there would be utter chaos.”

The President looked at me and asked, “Then what am I to say? That it s us again? Some fairy tale of weather balloons? I don’t think they’re going to buy it anymore. Before I came in here, I was handed yet another fax showing even more unidentified craft positioned over other states. That’s a total of fifty-five UFOs over the United States alone and another fifty-eighty elsewhere around the Globe. What should I say?”

I just stood there. What should be said? I don’t know. If the truth were told, it would cause panic and that is more than we can deal with right now. Then it came to me. I looked him squarely in the eyes and said, “With all due respect Mr. President, you nor any president before you in the last 30 years or more have cared what the public feels, knows, or thinks. Don’t tell them a damn thing. Furthermore, if the media continues to cause panic do what the government is good at doing, kill them and publicly.”

