Tags

, , , ,

Tomorrow WendellTomorrow Wendell by R.M. Ridley

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

NOTE: I was provided with a free copy for review purposes with no expectation of a favorable review.

Having read the short story featuring the main character, I was pleased to get the opportunity to read the beginning of a series of books that will detail Jonathan Alvey’s adventures as a private investigator whose cases are a bit more… unusual than most.

Let’s get one thing out of the way real quick. There was one element regarding magic in here that I was really not a huge fan of that plays a huge role in the story and thought that one particular element showed up a bit too often for my taste. Still, I found this an enjoyable and exciting read. The writing style drew me in, as well Mr. Alvey’s character. He’s a resourceful and determined guy who will go to any lengths necessary to protect his latest client, who is getting inundated with death predictions.

The story drew me in quickly, as Ridley has built a diverse and interesting world that is full of surprises. He paced the story well and kept me on the edge of my seat as I waited to see how the whole thing would play out. Through it all, Ridley added in little bits of humor and ridiculousness that helped to break the tension a bit while not taking away from the main story and tone. I would definitely recommend this one to fans of paranormal and detective stories.

