The Forgotten PharaohThe Forgotten Pharaoh by Laura DeLuca

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It’s no secret that I am a fan of Laura’s “Dark Musicals” books, but I hadn’t had the chance to read anything else by her until now. I decided to check this out and loved it! Since I like ancient history and Egpyt, one of my favorite aspects of this book was that it was based on a real Pharoah.

The book centers around a group of Egyptologists’ quest to find out what really happened to what became known as “The Forgotten Pharaoh”. If they are successful, they will be featured on a major TV series. The crew, including the Gerber’s teenage daughter, Julie, work long days to piece together the evidence in time to have something worth filming.

Throughout the book, DeLuca maintains the tension while building fun and interesting characters that you can’t he;p by want to see succeed. While Julie has a bit of an attitude in the beginning, I like how she and her relationships with the other characters develop throughout the story and hope there will be another book set in this world.

I don’t want to say too much more for fear of spoilers, but I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes YA and history-based fiction.

View all my reviews

