I’m baack! 🙂 I’m here to start you Monday with another Musical battle of the cover songs. Who performed it better? The original artist? The cover artist? This time, I’m taking a look at one of Taylor Swift’s more recent songs.

I have to admit that I have a bit of a soft spot for her. She may have a lot of iffy moments vocally, but when she’s on? She is on. I think that’s especially true during her Crossroads episode with Def Leopard. Plus? The girl knows how to write a lyric, as evidenced by the words to these songs.

So, let’s take a look at Taylor’s original video:

Okay, over-dramatic opening monologue aside, this is a pretty fun song with a nice beat and melody so I enjoy it quite a bit. Let’s see how the other version does….

This is Michelle Chanuel’s version from her season of The Voice:

I must say that I think she wins this one for a couple of reasons. One, I think her version had a little more edge to it and she made it uniquely hers. I also love her vocals in this. What do you guys think? Who is the winner? Let’s chat about it!

 

