Tags

, , , , , ,

Scrooged: A Dark Musicals NovellaScrooged: A Dark Musicals Novella by Laura DeLuca

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As a huge fan of Laura’s work and the Dark Musicals trilogy, I was excited to see a novella featuring some of my favorite characters. With a plot based on “A Christmas Carol”, Laura turns the spotlight on a character we didn’t get to know all that well during the trilogy: Rebecca’s father, Stan.

After his bad attitude ruins the holiday, Stan finds himself at the mercy of three guides who take him on a journey through his daughter’s relationship with Justyn and where his attitude will lead him.

Each guide was a character who’d played a major part in all three of the original novels, with two of them making me laugh out loud through most of it. The third, however, created an eerie mood that set the stage for something I did not see coming. I loved getting the opportunity to revisit this world and learn a little bit more about Stan as well as Justyn and Rebecca. The writing was engaging, moving, and will be sure to satisfy fans of the series as well as new readers. I recommend it for anyone who loves the classic Christmas story and Young Adult/New Adult fiction.

