Tags

, , , , ,

As with many other children of the ’80s, I grew up watching a certain villain who stalked innocent teenagers in their dreams. I’m talking about the legend: Freddy Krueger.

Yes, that’s right. I was a massive fan of the series and still am to this day. Freddy was one of those villains who was a combination of creepy and hilarious. I loved his one-liners and the creativity behind a lot of the dreams in the series.

If I had to rank the movies, I’d say 1, 3, 4, and 5 were my favorites. For the sake of the others, I will pretend the others don’t exist. Except for New Nightmare…. that was just cool and I thought it was a great way to bring the franchise back for a movie without having to find yet another way for him to come back.

I think of all the films, 3, 4, and 5 were the most cohesive and they added the most to the mythology of Freddy’s world, as well as his character. I especially loved the whole thing with Alice taking on personality quirks and skills from her friends after they died– gifts that ended up helping her fight Freddy.

To pay tribute to my favorite horror villain right, let’s check out a video shall we? It’s the man himself, Robert Englund, telling us some things we might not have known about the franchise. Enjoy and be sure to comment below with your thoughts on Freddy. Have another favorite slasher series? I’d love to hear about that to. Until tomorrow!

