Tags

, , , , ,

So, I thought I would throw a little more music into the mix for the A to Z Challenge by showcasing a version of one of my favorite oldies songs: “God Only Knows”. The original version brings a couple of things to mind.

As a child of that era, my uncle loves this music, as did my mom. I spent so much time listening to their old records as well as songs on the oldies station that I couldn’t help but fall in love with the music. I remember spending a lot of time listening to his copy of Pet Sounds and being amazed at the beauty of the words and melodies.

This song also has the distinction of being part of the few TV moments that has made me tear up. As a kid, I was obsessed with The Wonder Years and I’m sure anyone else who grew up on that show knows exactly the moment I am talking about. The Beach Boys version of this song was playing when Kevin Arnold walked on the school bus near the end of a field trip to find Winnie had left the necklace he gave her laying on the seat they’d occupied on the ride to the venue.

Wilson Phillips (made up of the daughters of Beach Boy Brian Wilson and the daughter of John Phillips and Michelle Phillips of the Mamas and the Papas) also did a nice version on one of their covers CDs.

So what do you guys think? Did you love the original? What do you think of this version? Was there another song you might have picked to represent this letter of the challenge? Comment and let me know! Until next time!

