Tags

, , , , , , ,

So, if you have been following my blog for a little while you might remember me taking part in #AStoryAWeek last year. It was a challenge started by Jessica McHugh where you would write one new story for each week of the year.

Inspired by a prompt from Angie Mroczka about jealousy, I wrote this piece and I thought that I would share for today’s letter in the A to Z Challenge. Enjoy!10530883_10152713230918105_561591883794511491_n

You reek of someone else. You go out each day and when you get back, you smell of another. Someone who’s been getting your attention instead of me while I sit around here waiting for you all day. It’s not right. In fact, It’s disloyal to the core and I shouldn’t even be looking at you right now but I can’t help myself.

The minute you walk through the door, it’s like everything changes. I forget how lonely I’ve been or even how long you’ve been gone. All I know is, you’re back and it’s the best thing in the world to me. What was I even angry about?

Right. That scent. Whoever that scent belongs to is nasty, just so you know. They’d have to be if they smell like that. How can you even stand being around them? I know I wouldn’t be able to take it for more than a minute if I had the full effect. Of course, I can smell things a lot better than you can. If you realized just how much better, maybe you wouldn’t go there anymore. Or maybe you’d just wash off before you came back; I don’t know. Either way, I guess it doesn’t matter.

Wait a minute…. there’s something different today. That smell is even stronger than before. How did I not notice that sooner? You’re saying something, but I can’t understand it because my mind is reeling as I try to make sense of this.
“Hang on,” you say. “I have a surprise.”

I’m interested, but wary. What good can possibly come of this? I watch as you walk back out the door and come in with something in your arms. It’s covered, but reeking with the same smell that’s been driving me mad since you got back. I watch in curiosity as the cover is pulled off.

Ugh. It’s worse than I thought. That thing sitting in the box makes me so angry I want to destroy something to teach you a lesson. You set the box down in from front of me and smile as though you’d just solved the world’s problems. As far as I’m concerned you’ve only added one to a list that’s been growing by the day.

“Meet your new brother, Sam.”

A soft growl escapes me, quickly followed by a whimper at the look I get in response.
Like we really needed another dog is this house. It’s going to take me forever to break this little creep in. It’s a good thing I love you so much, or I’d run away from home. Or bite you. Whatever.

