Tags

, , , ,

“I will learn to let go what I cannot change. I will learn to forgive what I cannot change. I will learn to love what I cannot change. But I will change whatever I can.” – LeAnn Rimes, What I Cannot Change.

This lyric from her Family album is based on the serenity prayer, and it carries such a punch. I really love the falsetto she uses when delivering this line because it really drives home the vulnerability of the line. This whole song, really, is a meditation on life and how we let small things get in the way while letting things we should be trying to change continue.

This song, for me, is all about letting yourself to be authentic. It’s about knowing your limitations and your strengths, then putting them to work. What will you let go of this week? What are you going to change?

It might just set you free.

